Our Team

The Lerner team includes administration, faculty, and our Board of Directors. We work together to help students make a positive impact everyday.

Lerner students are challenged to strive for a balance of compassionate living and academic excellence. Our team is committed to enabling students to achieve this through the Lerner Way.

Every member of our outstanding team is carefully selected for their specialization and commitment to creating a positive educational experience for each child.

lighting candle

Administration:

Keri Baker, Director of Admissions
admissions@lernerschool.org

Rachel Bearman, Director of Development
develop@lernerschool.org

Kersten Biehn, Principal
kersten@lernerschool.org

Deborah Kleinman, Front Office Manager
shalom@lernerschool.org

Autumn Myrick, Development Associate
autumn@lernerschool.org

Allison B. Oakes, Head of School
allison@lernerschool.org

Nathan Somers, Director of Jewish Life
nathan@lernerschool.org

Eric Stultz, Business & Facilities Manager
business@lernerschool.org

Faculty:

Chelsea Avchen, Art Teacher
chelsea@lernerschool.org

Cheryl Berkes, Preschool Teacher
cheryl@lernerschool.org

Lynn Borman, 1st Grade Assistant
lynn@lernerschool.org

Raina Elsner, 3rd Grade Teacher
raina@lernerschool.org

Laura Hancox, Library & Teaching Assistant
laura@lernerschool.org

Django Haskins, Music Teacher
django@lernerschool.org

Emily Hayes, Kindergarten Teacher
emily@lernerschool.org

Samantha Jay, Kindergarten Teacher
samanthajay@lernerschool.org

Samantha Lazar, 4th Grade Homeroom Teacher
samantha@lernerschool.org

Hinda Lind, Preschool Teacher
hinda@lernerschool.org

Abbie Lowe, Preschool Teacher
abbie@lernerschool.org

Catherine McAuley, PE Teacher & After School Director
cat@lernerschool.org

Mary McGinnis, Spanish Teacher
mary@lernerschool.org

Tori Morton, 2nd Grade Teacher
Tori@lernerschool.org

Harriet Moulder, Preschool Teacher
Harriet@lernerschool.org

Becca Newman, 1st Grade Teacher
becca@lernerschool.org

Erica Nobles, Preschool Teacher & Elementary Learning Support Coordinator
Erica@lernerschool.org

Carlyn Piasecki, 5th Grade Homeroom Teacher
carlyn@lernerschool.org

Antal Ranon, Hebrew and Judaics Teacher
antal@lernerschool.org

Caryn Rosenberg, Preschool Coordinator & Preschool Teacher
caryn@lernerschool.org

Wylli Shenhouse, Preschool Teacher
Wylli@lernerschool.org

Ronit Zahavi, Hebrew Teacher
ronit@lernerschool.org

Board of Directors:

The Board of Directors has the responsibility and authority to govern the School’s affairs, including: establishing and fulfilling the School’s mission and policies hiring, supporting, and evaluating the Head of School securing the financial sustainability of the School.

Please read the current Board Chair’s welcome letter and Lerner School By-Laws.

2016-17 Welcome letter from Board Chair

Lerner School By-Laws May 2017

2017-18 Board of Directors

Rachel Ariel

Jonathan Blitz

Jeremy Browner, Secretary

Jonathan Dayan

Hollis Gauss, Past President

Lauren Gindes

Norma Gindes, Vice President

Richard Goldberg

David Goldman, President

Norah Goldman, Vice President

Andrew Janiak

Evelina Moulder

Matthew Slotkin

Maia Szulik, Alumni

Board Meetings

Board meetings are open to all members of the corporation (parents, faculty, and staff). We welcome you to join us at any of our meetings which take place on Tuesdays from 6:30pm to 9:00pm in the Israel Center at the JCC. Some parts of board meetings, including votes, are not open to non-board members, and non-board members will be excused for those parts. Here is the list of board meeting dates for 2017-2018.

2017-18 Board Meetings
September 12
October 10
November 14
December 11
January 9
February 13
March 13
April 10
May 8
June 5